SOSP 2019 Awards

Best Papers

  • Efficient and Scalable Thread-Safety Violation Detection, Guangpu Li (University of Chicago), Shan Lu (University of Chicago), Madanlal Musuvathi (Microsoft Research), Suman Nath (Microsoft Research), and Rohan Padhye (UC Berkeley)
  • Scaling symbolic evaluation for automated verification of systems code with Serval, Luke Nelson (University of Washington), James Bornholt (University of Washington), Ronghui Gu (Columbia University), Andrew Baumann (Microsoft Research), Emina Torlak (University of Washington), and Xi Wang (University of Washington)

Student Research Competition - Graduate Students

  • Gold Medalist: Efficient Privacy Policies in Multiverse Databases, Samyukta Yagati (MIT)
  • Silver Medalist: Robustly Improving Byte Miss Ratio with Workload-Learning Caching, Zhengyu Song (Princeton University)
  • Bronze Medalist: Wave: A Substrate for Distributed Graph Processing on Commodity Clusters, Swapnil Gandhi (Indian Institute of Science)

Student Research Competition - Undergraduate Students

  • Gold Medalist: EnergyTimers: Integrating Physical Energy Measurement Devices into OS Kernels, Luis Gerhorst ( Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU))
  • Silver Medalist: Visualizing Critical Sections in Rust, Ziyi Zhang (University of Science and Technology of China)

SIGOPS Dennis M. Ritchie Doctoral Dissertation Award

  • Unobservable communications over untrusted infrastructure, Sebastian Angel, University of Texas, Austin, Advisor: Michael Walfish

SIGOPS Hall of Fame Awards

  • KLEE: Unassisted and Automatic Generation of High-Coverage Tests for Complex Systems Programs, Cristian Cadar, Daniel Dunbar, and Dawson Engler (Stanford University) OSDI 2008
  • DryadLINQ: A System for General-Purpose Distributed Data-Parallel Computing Using a High-Level Language, Yuan Yu, Michael Isard, Dennis Fetterly, Mihai Budiu, Úlfar Erlingsson, Pradeep Kumar Gunda, and Jon Currey (Microsoft Research) OSDI 2008
  • Debugging in the (Very) Large: Ten Years of Implementation and Experience, Kirk Glerum, Kinshuman Kinshumann, Steve Greenberg, Gabriel Aul, Vince Orgovan, Greg Nichols, David Grant, Gretchen Loihle, and Galen Hunt (Microsoft) SOSP 2009
  • seL4: formal verification of an OS kernel, Gerwin Klein, Kevin Elphinstone, Gernot Heiser, June Andronick, David Cock, Philip Derrin, Dhammika Elkaduwe, Kai Engelhardt, Rafal Kolanski, Michael Norrish, Thomas Sewell, Harvey Tuch, and Simon Winwood (NICTA, UNSW, Open Kernel Labs, and ANU) SOSP 2009

Mark Weiser Award

  • Ion Stoica